Iran waives visa requirements for 33 nations

Home Iran waives visa requirements for 33 nations
By: visas / January 9, 2024

Iranian Minister of Cultural Heritage, Tourism, and Handicrafts Ezzatollah Zarghami has said the Iranian Cabinet has decided to unilaterally cancel visa requirements for visitors from India and several other countries.

Iran earlier this week decided to waive visa requirements for 33 countries.

View other Travel News
Click below

Speaking to reporters after a cabinet meeting on Wednesday, Zarghami said the decision is aimed at boosting tourism arrivals and attracting more visitors from countries around the world.

He said efforts to boost tourism can neutralize Iranophobia campaigns.

Recently Malaysia, Sri Lanka and Vietnam have waived visa requirements for visitors from India.

India has one of the fastest growing market for outbound tourism India with a recent McKinsey analysis showing 13 million outbound Indian tourists in 2022.

The 33 countries approved for Iran’s new visa-waiver programme are as follows:

India, Russia, United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Kuwait, Lebanon, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Tunisia, Mauritania, Tanzania, Zimbabwe, Mauritius, Seychelles, Indonesia, Darussalam, Japan, Singapore, Cambodia, Malaysia, Vietnam, Brazil, Peru, Cuba, Mexico, Venezuela, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Croatia and Belarus.

Earlier, Iran had visa waiver programs for visitors from Turkiye, Republic of Azerbaijan, Oman, China, Armenia, Lebanon and Syria.

According to the latest statistics, the number of foreign arrivals in Iran reached 4.4 million during the first eight months of the current Iranian year (started on March 21), an increase of 48.5% compared to the same period last year.


Previous post
Ten ways to avoid scams when booking travel
Next Post
Kenya goes visa-free for travelers – but there’s a catch

Leave a Comment

Copyright © 2022. Designed by WordPressRiver